Factory default reset Snap OS base servers.

Version 1

    How can a Snap Server's settings be reset to defaults if it is not accessible over the network?

     

    This information is not Operating System specific.

     

    ---Solution---

     

    Note: Resetting the Snap Server to its factory default settings does not change the existing disk configuration or erase any data stored on your disks. However, clearing all of the system settings will remove the File/Folder Security and Quotas.

     

    To reset the server settings:

    1. Turn the Snap Server off and wait for all of the lights to turn off.

    2. Press and hold down the Reset button. While still pressing Reset, turn the Snap Server back on; wait until both the System and Disk lights start flashing in sync. (To press the Reset button, push a pencil point or similar object into the reset button.)

    3. Release the Reset button.

    4. To select the settings desired to be cleared and reset, briefly press the Reset button:

       - Once to clear the server\'s IP address.<br>Twice to clear the Administrator password.

       - Three times to clear the server\'s network settings.<br>Four times to clear all system settings.

    5. Watch the Disk light and verify that the number of times it flashes corresponds to the number of times the Reset button was pushed. For example, if the Reset button was pressed three times for clearing the network settings, the Disk light should flash three times repeatedly to confirm the reset. If the number of flashes exceeds the number intended, repeat steps 4 and 5 of this procedure or start over from step 1.

    6. When the light confirms the level of reset intended, press and hold down the Reset button until both the System and Disk lights turn off, and then release the Reset button. The server then restarts, and resets the setting/settings selected to the factory defaults.

     

     

     

     

     

    entryID:9445